Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

The Blue & Gray Press | August 21, 2019

Scroll to top


Sitting SGA Executive Cabinet approves three new clubs

Sitting SGA Executive Cabinet approves three new clubs


This week, a new Executive Cabinet was approved and is preparing to transition in the coming days, but the sitting Executive Cabinet is continued to operate as usual this week. Three student club motions were approved by the Executive Cabinet at their most recent meeting on Monday, April 6.

The meeting, which stretched for two hours, also voted and issued in the new cabinet board. The transition of current members to new members will take place next Wednesday, April 15.

Hannah Tibbett was elected as the 2015-2016 Student Government Association president. Alex Obolensky will serve as vice president, Diana Inthavong as Honor Council president and Juliet Narine as Judicial Review Board president.

The Executive Cabinet passed motions on Monday to accept proposals for three new UMW clubs. The first group, Khi Alpha, a new religious organization that requires its student leadership to read and accept a statement of religious faith. The second group, the Transfer Student Club, would give students transferring from other universities to UMW the opportunity to meet other transfer students and plan outings.

The last group, The Talons, would be UMW’s school spirit club. They would attend campus-wide events, such as sporting events and the Multicultural Fair. They would also create a group for students who work as UMW’s mascot, Sammy D. Eagle, called the “Sammy Squad.” Approval of all three of the groups passed unanimously.

The Executive Cabinet also passed a motion to host an open meeting with UMW students about the app Yik Yak app and using it civilly. The proposed meeting will have six student leaders, who are not affiliated with student groups, and will be moderated by a UMW faculty member.

Student Senate will have their last meeting of the semester next week.